How Do You Prepare For And Structure Podcasts?

I have been researching guidelines and tips on how to create effective podcasts. A lot of the information emphasises the importance of preparation before any recording or editing is done, which makes a lot of sense. As I have started to script mine, I do wonder about things like, do you ‘welcome’ the listener? explain what the content will be and the sequence of it? It seems straightforward but once you get into the detail there does seem to be a lot of planning involved in terms of structure, ‘chunking’ information, timing everything similarly and how to use your voice to emphasise and clarify more important points. I have also found that practising reciting your content is really helpful – the more I have practised the more natural I sound and mistakes are lessened.

I found a helpful youtube video (below) on how to prepare for a podcast, and what makes a good podcast. Though the advise is not geared specifically towards educational podcasts, it seems the guidelines are relevant no matter what the nature of the podcast is;

http://www.videojug.com/player?id=b0186618-c04f-4e27-508e-ff0008c9ad7c
Podcasting:
How To Make A Podcast Part 1: Planning And Preparation

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shane O'Donnell
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 02:55:40

    I completed my Podcast early on Saturday. Like you, I also considered greetings and introducing a menu at the outset. I ended up doing both these things. I’ve listened back several times and am quite happy with the result. One thing I made sure to do was use short, pertinent sentences. Also, I found Audacity to be a beautiful application to use.

    Reply

  2. John Rainsford
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 14:47:42

    Hi Katrina,
    What about other issues like hearing the sound of your own voice on a recording. Some people don’t like to look at themselves or hear themselves. Is that going to be a drawback in this assignment do you think and how can it be overcome?

    Reply

    • el6082katrina
      Mar 30, 2011 @ 18:11:14

      Shane – I ended up introducing the podcast also and outlining what would be discussed. I think it makes sense. I have mine recoreded now but I’m not happy with it actually. I would like to have some effects to audibly ‘break-up’ the content, but its been a bit messy. I think I’m going to start again.
      John – I am definitely one of those people! I don’t even recognise my own voice, its very uncomfortable listening back for me. BUT I have to say that when you do something like this, and practise it as I have, I actually got a little bit more comfortable with it, and noticed things I do with my voice that does not lend itself well to giving effective information orally. So, I’m glad of having to do it. I don’t think you can ‘overcome’ issues like these that have to do with self-consciousness etc. but theres a lot to be said for the more you do it, the easier it gets. How are you getting on with yours John?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

