Learning new technologies

Since I started this course last year, my main obstacle has been learning new technologies. Personally, I find them a little scary and sometimes really intimidating. I tend to feel like I dont have any control over it, compared to say, writing an essay or a report just using microsoft word or some such basic application. Coming from an arts degree background, it’s been difficult to get my head around relying so heavily on technology to create anything.

However, though I still feel anxious about new or updated technologies I have found that just practising and not expecting to become an expert on it straight away helps a lot. Last semester I used Photoshop and Framemaker for the frist time. For our ‘Principles of Technical Communication’ module, which at the beginning worried me as I anticipated not being able to understand the applications enough to successfully complete assignments like our brochures and instructional manuals, I really had to focus on learning applications before certain deadlines, which I had never done before. As well as our lab sessions, I used tutorial videos on youtube to help with problems I was having. For Photoshop, once I got my head around the principle of ‘layers’, I actually loved it! My favourite assignment by far. The design aspects of it were great becasue we had a level of creative freedom. framemaker on the other hand, I didn’t enjoy so much. Though, I did feel a lot more comfortable with it once I practised and availed of all of the help resources.

This semester there are lots of new (to me) technologies to learn including dreamweaver and I think if I can take anything from last semester its that being patient and using as many help resources as possible is the best way for me to manage my learning.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mr WordPress
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 21:37:17

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

